Bday Cake – Chocolate Coffee Mousse Cake

image

Type of dish : cake
Level of difficulty : complicated
Mood : feel blessed, I’m a bday girl

Happy bday to me… Happy bday to me… *sing along*
I don’t care if it’s sound silly to make my own bday cake. I’m craving for a soft-melt in your mouth-cake. No no, not buttercream cake.
When I saw this recipe at Kak Rima‘s blog, bookmarked immediately. I just knew it will going to be my bday cake.

The bday dishes started on Monday, one day before. I cooked 15 individual portion of Lasagna and 2 pans of Cheesecake Brownies. Unfortunately I’m too tired to take pics. Next time I will bake the brownie again. It’s so good, moist, sweet but tasty at the same time due to the cream cheese in it.
As for Lasagna, it’s a usual one.  Lasagna sheet stack with smooth bolognaise sauce & rosemary bechamel sause, topped with mozzarella.
O ya by the way, those dishes gone so quickly at my office…

On Thursday I bake the Chocolate Coffee Mousse Cake for dinner on Saturday night. I prepare this cake ahead because to make the mousse set does take time.
This cake has three steps, lots of preps, but the taste is so worthed. Ok shall we start…

Ingredients
Chocolate sponge cake
5 egg yolks
2 egg whites
40g sugar
30g flour
10g corn flour
15g cocoa powder
65g unsalted butter
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
pan 20X20X4 cm
Coffee Syrup
1 tsp instant coffee
2 tbsp granulated sugar
70g water
1 tbsp vanilla extract
coffee mousse
1 tsp instant coffee mixed with 1 tbsp hot water
75 g whip cream
100 gr White cooking chocolate
4g gelatine powder dissolved in a little hot water – stir
150g whip cream, whipped until fluffy
chocolate mousse
75g whip cream
100g Dark cooking chocolate
4g gelatin powder
150g whip cream, whipped until fluffy

Method
Sponge cake
1. Beat sugar and eggs until fluffy and thickened
2. Sieved flour, cornflour, cocoa powder and baking powder
3. Fold in flour mixture gently till well combined
4. Fold in melted butter and mix well
5. Pour batter into greased pan and baked it for 15mins 175C
6. Sliced cake into two part and set it aside
Method for both mousse
1. Heat the heavy cream
2. Add into white cooking chocolate and let it sit for 5 mins bef stirring.
3. Add in gelatin and stir till combined.
4. In another bowl, whisk heavy cream till fluffy. Add chocolate mixture into heavy cream and stir gently – place in fridge.
For coffee mousse
Same as abv except u add ur coffee mixture after u add the rest to whipped cream.
Assemble
– Place a piece of sponge cake in a ring pan (pan without base) square size 20×20 drizzle cake with half the coffee syrup
– Pour coffee mousse
– Cover with chocolate sponge cake
– Sprinkle cake with remaining coffee syrup
– Pour the chocolate mousse
– Let it sit in fridge overnight or at least for 4hrs bef serving.

There was actually a “tragedy” when i made this. I’m planning to use my new baking ring, but I left it at the office. Panic!! I tried to use normal square pan, lined it with cling wrap overhanging the pan. It actually worked…

On Saturday night, me & fams had Lasagna, Baked Spaghetti, Mie Goreng, Chocolate Coffee Mousse Cake, Es Buah and Es Cendol. Happy tummies 🙂

image

image

            Spahetti habis bu… ^_^

image

Leave a Reply

