Chocolate Sweet Potato Sponge Cake

image

Type of dish : cake
Level of difficulty : easy
Mood : thrill

Coming back from Mas Fatih’ field trip to Taman Matahari, I bought a lot of ubi cilembu (honey sweet potato) which were so sweet resemble taste of honey. I toasted them in the oven and served for breakfast. But after a day, we got bored although there were still a bunch of them on the table.

So I started to search best way to make used of the sweet potato. First I wanted to knead it into bread, but I got too tired on weekend yet also craving for a light chocolate cake. Googling for sweet potato cake but always come up to a buttercake or quick bread recipe. Until I got a recipe at Sajian Sedap website. Hmmm… I think I could make a modification based on this recipe. And it turned out to be a whole new recipe, so I won’t post the link here.

Ingredients :
150 gr mash sweet potato (steam/roasted)
50 ml buttermilk
90 gr corn flour
30 gr rice flour
30 gr cocoa powder
5 eggs
125 gr caster sugar
1 tbsp powdered milk
50 ml vegetable oil

Preheat the oven 190 degrees C.
Prepare 20×20 cm baking pan, greased and line with baking paper.
Mix buttermilk and mash sweet potato using blender, set aside.
Sift corn flour, rice flour and cocoa powder, set aside.
With electric mixer on high speed, beat eggs, sugar and powdered milk until pale and fluffy. Switch to low speed, put the flour mixture and sweet potato in. Beat until incorporated. Lastly add oil, beat and make sure there’s no oil left under the batter.
Pour into the baking pan. Bake for 30 minutes, skewer test.
Take out of the oven, wait until it is  warm enough to handle. Unmould it, cool on a wire rack. I pour ganache on top which I still got in the fridge from my last macarons.

The result is so great. It rises high, fluffy yet moist due to the sweet potato and buttermilk in it. It was already that good without ganache. I will definetely make it again with a little twist and turn. I’m thinking vanilla and honey flavor… 🙂

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

