Deep Chocolate Yogurt Pound Cake

image

Type of dish : cake
Level of difficulty : easy
Mood : monday blues

I dedicate this post solely to “my first son” Athallah Senarai Ikhtiar. He’s actually my sister’s son. But I was with him from the very first moments.

I stand by my sister’s side while she was pregnant. I also accompanied her during the two breathtaking days of delivery, waiting the sectio outside the surgery room in the middle of the night. For the next couple of days in the hospital, I slept beside her bed.

When the little boy and his mom were home, I bathe & wash my sister’s hair. Change the baby’s diapers, clothes, sometime bathe him. Even woke up at night with my sister to hold & cuddle him. I also struggle together with my sis in order for her to breastfed. Even to help her pumping the milk. Remember one melting moment. Together with sis and mom, I hold his 7 months body inside the car to the hospital, warm in fever. He had to undergo in patient medication for 5 days due to diarrhea. All of those seem only happen yesterday.

Now he’s already a 3-gradder, a big 8 years old boy, how time flies. Sometime I still wanna hold him like good old time, but off course like other boys, he refuses.

I should thank Athallah, by the time I had my own children, I’m more than ready. I also thank Allah that my sister do the same with Mas Fatih & Jihan. She too consider that she has three kids.

Enough with the flashback, I promised Athallah a birthday cake and a present. So I manage to buy a present that he wants. But than his mother had to perform her duty to Papua, and mom was at Menado for family event. Alhamdulillah his father was taken days off. All of that made me forget about the cake.

Until on Saturday night I visit my fav blog, Bisous a Toi. I saw this mouthwatering cake, than I remember about my promise. I than half the recipe, enough for my 18 cm pan.

This recipe require sour cream, the original name is Deep Chocolate Sour Cream Pound Cake by Tish Boyle. But at night where can I find sour cream. So I asked my dear friend Andri how to make it, ah too complicated. Luckily I still had one small tube of plain yogurt, so I replaced it and change the name, sorry Boyle… Well the one I wrote here was my modification on the recipe, specially on the sugar amount.

Ingredients
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
150 gr unsalted butter
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup yogurt

Method
Prepare the oven for 150 C.
Sift the flours, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt into a medium bowl. Set aside.
In a bowl of an electric mixer, beat the butter at medium speed until very creamy, about 2 minutes. Gradually beat in the sugar.
Increase the speed to medium-high and beat until the mixture is well-blended and light, about 4 minutes. At medium speed, beat in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary.
In a small bowl, stir the vanilla extract into the yogurt. At the low speed, add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture in 3 additions, alternating with the yogurt mixture in 2 additions and mixing just until blended. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top.
Bake the cake for 65 minutes, until a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool the cake in the pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes. Then invert the cake onto the rack and let it cool completely.

I managed to do a slight decor using ganache. I tasted a bit while I did the decor, the cake was rich and moist but lot more light than regular buttercake.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY ATHALLAH. I wish you grown into a fine man, resposible & loving person, soleh and be true to your own heart. Stay happy and healthy…

image

Leave a Reply

