Butterplätzchen (German Butter Cookies)

image

Type of dish : cookies
Level of difficulty : time consuming
Mood : so many things in mind

First of all let me declare : I’m not a cookie type of baker. I hate their little shapes, so time consuming, need a lot of extra patiences.


But than one of my office friend want to throw a farewell giveaway for her toddler son’s friends. She asked me what kind of dish that suitable for kids. I suggest : cupcake & mini burgers. She than replied, can I order from you? I said off course, I’m sure I could fulffil it on weekend. But she changed her mind into this itsy bitsy cookies with royal icing. I immediately said : no way, I just cannot bake cookies. In short,she order from a place which has the experience on doing it. Good choice…

The next day my inner self told me, hey you… you used to like chalenge? Hehe than I decided why not make some cookies (little portion) for my kids and also give it as my part of farewell gift for little Damar. So I google and stumble into this wonderfull recipe. I also decorated the cookies with eggles sugar icing.

As usual I did some modification, well let me say a lot. The choice is yours…

Ingredients
200 gr flour
50 gr corn flour
25 gr custard powder
25 gr almond meal
200 gr cold butter — cubed
100 gr sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions
Beat together butter, sugar, vanilla. Add egg, mix well. Add all the flour & almond, mix well.
Knead it and make a ball. Wrap it in a plastic foil, refrigerate it for 1hour.
Preheat the oven to 180C. Cover a cookie try with a parchment paper. Roll the dough bit by bit on a light floured working surface into 5mm thick. Use your favourite cookie cutter, put cookie on a tray then bake in the middle tray in 12 to 13 minutes or until golden light. Let them cool on cookie wire.

Eggles Sugar Icing

1/2 cup icing sugar
1 1/2 tsp cornstarch
1 tsp lemon juice
a few drops food coloring (colour
and amount as desired)
2-3 tsp milk (or water)

Method:
Sift the sugar and cornstarch
together and put it into a bowl.
Add the the lemon juice and the
milk, 1 tsp at a time, until the
mixture becomes a smooth, but
thick paste.
Divide the icing into different
bowls according to the colours you need. Add a few drops of required colour to each bowl and mix till you get the shade you want.
Keep for about 10 minutes till all
the air bubbles come to the top.
You can adjust the consistency of
this icing according to your
requirement. If you need to thin
the icing add a bit of milk/ water
and mix till you get the desired
consistency. If you need it thicker, add more icing sugar as required.
The icing will harden if left open
so put it into your piping bags and keep ready for use. Using couplers with your icing bags is good as it is easy to change the tips. If you do not have icing tips or couplers, you can still using a piping bag or a ziplock bag and just make sure you cut very little off the tip so you can get fine lines for decorating.

The results as predicted, the icing made the cookies taste shockingly sweet. My kids enjoy them icing-less. I than warned the mother to give the cookies one at a time. She was happy, I hope Damar also like them as much as my kids are.

So, au revoir Yanti, Heru & Damar. Special to little Damar, enjoy life, stay healthy & happy. Although we’ve never met, but your tough mommy always talk about you. Love your mommy always kiddo…

Leave a Reply

