Prune Layer Cake

image

Type of dish : cake
Level of difficulty : medium
Mood : gloomy…

Hubs is out of town again. He had been like that for 3 times for this month alone. Am exhausted, lack of patience numerous times when handling the children, deffinetely not a good thing. But what can I do, when I’m tired, lack of sleep, I intend to be like that… *sigh*

Ok, back to food. I finally had the guts to do Indonesian Thousand Layer Cake a.k.a Lapis Legit. So… who said I only adore International dishes??

I used frozen egg yolks from previous macarons orders. Am little bit in doubt at first until I talked to Mbak Yuli Fransisca who had done this for numerous time. She said it’s ok, the batter itself doesn’t need to be too fluffy like sponge cake, yet it should be moist. Later I found out that the eggs and butter should in cold condition when it comes to Lapis Legit.

And… ta da, it turned out beautiful. Moist, not to sweet. Deffinetely more delicious than store bought. Recipe from Kak Rima Bisous a toi never failed me.

Prune Layer Cake
(source : here)

Ingredients

(A)
250g butter (I used mix of orchid + wysman)
80g condense milk (I used FF Gold)
1 tsp mix spice
1/2 tsp vanilla powder (I used vanilla extract)
80g golden syrup (I used light corn syrup)
(B)
15 egg yolk
3 egg white
120g castor sugar
80g all purpose flour
1 tbsp ovallete
20 ml cold water
(C)
Pitted prunes
Melted butter

Method

Greased a 20x20x7 cm pan. Line the bottom only. Preheat oven 180C.
Whisk A on high speed for about 7mins or till thick and creamy. Put it aside.
In another bowl.. Whisk B on medium speed for 10mins or till thick and fluffy.
Add butter mixture (A) into egg mixture (B) and continue to whisk till well blended.
Separate batter into 10 portions. about 90g each layer.
Spread a portion of batter evenly into pan.
Tilt pan left and right to level batter or use back of ur spoon. Grill for 5 minutes or until golden. I only need 3 minutes.
Remove from oven and press cake layer to remove excess air. Brush layer with melted butter and spread another portion of batter over the cooked layer, tilt pan to level batter and arrange flattened prunes onto batter. Grill for 5 minutes or until golden.
Do these two steps until batter is finished.
Bake last layer using lower heat for a further 10mins .. (use aluminium foil to cover the top so as to prevent the top fm turning to dark).
Cool the cake on a wire rack. Slice when completely cool. Serve with tea or coffee.

Now, my baking store a.k.a Mini Mouthful Sweets ready to accept Lapis Legit orders. The varians are :
1.  Original
2.  Cheese
3.  Prune
4.  Prune Cheese
5.  Mocca
6.  Cocoa Mocca
7.  Pandan
8.  Strawberry
The cake comes in 2 sizes : 20x20x6 and 22x10x4 cm. It can be posted also with one night service JNE.
Please put your orders to my fb : Jeany Mega Sari or simply e mail me : lazialita22@yahoo.com.

Happy layer… 🙂

image

image

Leave a Reply

