Cocoa Mocca Lapis Legit and Dark Chocolate Salted Caramel Tart – Family Gathering Eid Al Adha 2013

image

Type of dish : cake
Level of difficulty : medium
Mood : on holiday, happy off course

Ah, pardon me for too lazy to update this blog. I’m trying my best though.
Ok, let’s tell a little story. Last weekend is long holiday for Eid Al Adha. Had been prepared for an order and two cakes for family. The kids requested chocolate cake, sista requested pie, so why not combine them altogether?

Bake Lapis Legit on Sunday night. Worked half day on Monday. And we spent our Monday night hang out at Summarecon Mall Bekasi. Watched live music, kids played beside fish pond, beautiful night scenery, munching on pizza. Such a relaxing moment. Almost forgot to bake chocolate tart hehehe…

Ok, I started on Lapis Legit first. As usual I got the recipe from my fav blog, bisous a toi. Thanks a million Kak Rima… I tweaked the egg ratio, since I suspect this will produce dry texture which I don’t like.

Ingredients
(A)
250g butter
150g sugar (I used 200 gr)
14 egg yolks (I used 20)
5 tbsp condense milk
(B)
150g sugar (I used 100 gr)
7 egg white (I used 3)
1/4 tsp cream of tartar (I skip)
(C)
160g Hong Kong flour (I used cake flour)
40g horlick (replaced with milk powder)
1 tsp baking powder (I skip)
(D)
a) 1/4 tsp yellow colouring + 1 tsp vanilla essence (I used 1/2 tsp custard powder and 1/2 tsp spekoek)
b) 1 tbsp mocha emulco – I used mocha paste
c) 1/2 tbsp chocolate emulco (I used chocolate paste) + 2 tbsp cocoa powder + 3 tbsp hot water – mix everything into paste.
Preheat oven 175C for 15 mins. Greased 20×20 cm pan.

Method
1. A : Whisk butter, sugar and condensed milk till white and creamy.
Add in egg yolks one at a time and continue to whisk till well combined – set aside.
3. B : In another bowl, whisk egg white till bubbly. Add in sugar a little at a time till soft peak.
4. C : Fold in carefully sifted flour and milk into A.
5. Once mixed add in B and mix till well blended.
6. Divide batter into 3 portions. One part add in D(a). Add in D(c) mixture into the 2nd portion and lastly add in D (b) into the last portion.
7. Every layer weigh 76g (me 50 gr) and takes 7 mins (me 3 mins) to bake using upper fire (grill).
8. Grill all the chocolate portion
first, each layer u have to press it and brush it with melted butter. once your done with chocolate portion you continue with mocha portion and lastly u use yellow portion.
9. Bake last layer using upper and lower fire for 15 mins.

image

While for Dark Chocolate Salted Caramel Tart, I’m inspired by Kak Rima’s post. Unfortunately, she hasn’t write the recipe yet. So I  googled and find this perfect combination. For the tart shell, I used the recipe from Joy of Baking, Salted Caramel and Chocolate filling are from Sweetapolita. I will not write the recipe again here. Please do check them out at the original sources.

image

We, as a big family had so much fun. Our grandma and grandpa came all the way from NL. Pssst… they also brough some cooking & baking ingredients which I requested. Thank you Opa Oma…
My uncle’s family also came from Bandung. Their 2-months-old youngest family member is so adorable. I had the chance to held him and change his diaper, so cute.
Unfortunately, some of the family from Jogja could not make it. Nevertheless, this kind of event is rare. We had lots and lots of great pictures.

image

Complete Version

image

Love the T Shirt : Future Pilot & Future Pediatrician, amiiin

image

Me and Sis. Aren't we lovely?

May Allah bless the whole family, granted us great health and rizki, so that we could meet again in the future. Amiiin…

Leave a Reply

